Saturday, 17 September 2016

Raaz Reboot Review


Raaz Reboot


Has any good ever come out of a family moving to a new place in hopes of a new, rejuvenating lifestyle? And have 'they' really done everything 'they' can to make a movie out of it and present the same to us on the celluloid? No. A resounding NO. 'Raaz reboot', a movie which is as clumsy as its title, confirms to these questions and presents the viewer yet another half-baked, brainless and altogether gawky picture for our beloved Fridays.

Saturday, 5 March 2016

Jai Gangaajal movie review

"The wine is old but it doesn't taste better."




It is unfortunate, rather sad, that this film contains the name of and is considered a sequal to an immensely greater film 'Gangaajal'. There are stark similarities between the two and yet, this one is nothing but a failed rip-off of the original. When you watch 'Jai Gangaajal', you cannot help but remember similar scenes from the first movie and you wonder how enthralling they were. Inadvertently, you compare them and you find that the one folding before you right then is a tomfoolery.

Saturday, 27 February 2016

Aligarh movie review

"The movie suffers because the makers lack belief in the theme"
Source


I am perplexed at the superficiality with which few films are revered just because they have an underlying liberal or modern view of the society at large. Such themes, although important on a social basis, are those that mar the objective discourse of a movie and throw you into vicarious yet peripheral emotions. Aligarh is a victim of this very flaw- both in filmmaking and the subsequent reception. 

Friday, 26 February 2016

Everything else about the Oscars 2016: Complete Predictions





This post is a followup to Oscar 2016 Predictions: Best Picture. I had been meaning to do a detailed analysis of some of the major categories, but I feel like falling short of time here. And so, this post is a look at the different nominations for various categories and my predictions for the Academy Award. For some of them, I am going to talk about my prediction while for others, just the name would suffice. Others, which I do not have the requisite knowledge/exposure about, I leave to other Cinephiles out there to decide. Here it goes-

Sunday, 21 February 2016

The All New Tata ZICA Hatchback: It's #Fantastico



Fifteen years ago, Tata Motors (then TELCO) came up with a supermini Indica for the Indian roads and revolutionized the Indian Automotive Industry for ever. It was able to achieve what no-one had done prior to it in India- It materialized its vision, realized its dream, the dream of developing the most modern Indian Car indigenously. And this time, it has come up with something even more fantastico- The Hatchback Zica. The car launch is expected in Feb-March as Tata takes its best foot forward. Here, we look at some peppy features of the car, the momentum surrounding it and why it is the best bet for its intended price segment-

Oscar 2016 Predictions: Best Picture

BEST PICTURE PREDICTIONS


On February 28, 2016, the academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will present the 88th Academy Awards for the best films of the year around the globe. 2015 was an year of tremendous highs in film-making, especially for Hollywood and in close conjunction to that, we saw some low-key artistic masterpieces making it big on the international front. While all of the latter may not have received the deserved recognition in the Oscar nominations, you just can't take anything away from them as far as brilliant film-making is concerned.

Saturday, 20 February 2016

Neerja movie review: It moves you and it gets you to care.



It gets you to feel the impact

It's a difficult task to review a movie that tells you about great lives. This is because while you may be reviewing the movie, people tend to feel that you are judging the person. When I say that Manjhi was an utter disappointment and that Airlift didn't have an impact, they feel that I am flunking them  just so I could project superiority while all the time, I am stating facts. Fortunately, this problem wouldn't crop up here because 'Neerja', much like the Neerja Bhanot herself, would endure the memories of people who have witnessed it.

Thursday, 18 February 2016

This Ki and Ka trailer is fantastico

It has been trending over the social media and over YouTube for quite sometime now and unless you have been living under a rock, you would have heard of it. And it is plain awesome. 


This trailer is plain fantastico
Source

Saturday, 13 February 2016

Sanam Re Review: A Music album shamelessly disguised as a movie.

In 1990, The Bhatt camp and Gulshan Kumar made a movie out of a music album they believed would bring the nation to a still. And it did. Bhushan Kumar has tried to do something similar here but there are two big problems. The songs aren't that good and they forgot to put in a story here.


 A Music album shamelessly disguised as a movie.
Source


Fitoor Review: Great expectations, Small Impact

What the Dickens just happened? As a rare feat in the romantic movie genre of Bollywood, there seemed to be a coherent, enthralling story and suddenly there was a jump in time and we were left with nothing short of stones talking to each other. First they were bent on ruining Shakespeare and now Dickens! Well Done.


Great expectations, Small Impact

Sunday, 7 February 2016

Sanam Teri Kasam review: Mawra makes an impact

People stay together not because they forget, but because they forgive.
Source


So..if I take a girl with supermodel good looks and give her braids and a kurta to wear, much less put some spects on her, then would she become an old nerdy maid whom no guy in his right mind would want to marry? Well, the movie tells us the same and this is the only thing in the movie we cannot digest. Mawra Hocane, an actress as impactful as her name plays Saraswati a.k.a Saru, a brahmin girl who lives a nerdy lifes under her orthodox parents and can't seem to get an 'IIT/IIM' guy to marry her despite her Mawra Hocanian good looks. You get to know this and you are like "I am not going to sit through this anymore unless they resolve this crap" and so they do.

Friday, 5 February 2016

The Prestige revisited: Impact of a reddit thread

Source

I have just seen it again, analyzing it frame by frame, trying to come up with some semblance of objectivity as to what really happened in it. The notorious director that Christopher Nolan is, has less to do with his clever plot lines that sometimes leave the audiences amazed and more with the subjectivity of what he shows on the screen and what really seems to have happened behind those frames.

Saturday, 30 January 2016

Saala Khadoos review: Too peppy for a boxing movie

Saala Khadoos review: Too peppy for a boxing movie


Source


The banner of being a 'Raj Kumar Hirani film' does little to save 'Saala Khadoos'.  It is one of those films that try to do too many things and end up doing none right. The fact that it is a boxing movie and is so pepped up with an all too bubbly protagonist and quirky subplots doesn't help either.

The 5 girls you do not meet in your classroom




Note: The following blogpost belongs to a genre that we have dedicated our blog 'Takhallus-e-Haqeeqat' to. On the said blog, you can expect posts ranging from short stories to light-hearted suggestions to hobbies and self-improvement. Hosting all such vibrant content under one roof, the said blog aims to do better and better with times to come. Here is a glimpse of the type of content you can find there. Feel free to browse your own way by clicking here-


Do I love you because you're beautiful?

Or are you beautiful because I love you?

She is the type you dream about but never really get to meet. You look around but you don't find her and give up, thinking she can only exist within stories. That particular girl may just be the one but wait, she is too haughty to fit your dream. Then there is that girl, cool, composed and nice. But she doesn’t have that magical charm about her. When you really look out for that girl, it does not matter if you are the right guy for her. That comes later. What matters is how closely she fits that idea you have for the perfect girl. And that idea too may vary from me to you and from you to the next guy who reads this blog. But what remains same is the essence of that idea, how we idealize a girl, hold her as the deity and try to find the best match possible. It isn’t objectification really and you just want to search your best. If it were to really come down to the topic of ‘what really makes you fall for a girl’, the answer would fit a bizarre combination of time spent and social niceties. But this post is above all that. We do not talk about those grey shades here and rather, we see them as they seem to us. Here is a list of the 5 girls you do not meet in your classroom, those five dream girls you can never reach but can die trying for-

Thursday, 28 January 2016

Airlift: Argo without the impact

"Airlift: Schindler without the evolution, Argo without the impact."

Source


The line- "largest evacuation in the history of the world" has a certain aura to it which grips the audiences. But you don't feel the thrill. Things move before you can care for them and the frames are rushed. Airlift is one of those films for which you care more about what they could have been instead of what they actually are.

My 5 fantastico yet to read novels

Source


Note: The following blogpost belongs to a genre that we have dedicated our blog 'Takhallus-e-Haqeeqat' to. On the said blog, you can expect posts ranging from short stories to light-hearted suggestions to hobbies and self-improvement. Hosting all such vibrant content under one roof, the said blog aims to do better and better with times to come. Here is a glimpse of the type of content you can find there. This post is a followup to "NAVIGATING THROUGH MY TOP 5 FANTASTICO NOVELS". Feel free to browse your own way by clicking here-

Wednesday, 27 January 2016

To be traveled..

Note: The following blogpost belongs to a genre that we have dedicated our blog 'Takhallus-e-Haqeeqat' to. On the said blog, you can expect posts ranging from short stories to light-hearted suggestions to hobbies and self-improvement. Hosting all such vibrant content under one roof, the said blog aims to do better and better with times to come. Here is a glimpse of the type of content you can find there. This post is a followup to "TRAVEL FANTASTICO". Feel free to browse your own way by clicking here-


Taken from peacockpressprint.com


 So here, I am going to list down the 5 fantastico places in my list that I eagerly look forward to visiting. Since I have not yet undergone the navigation through them or traveled them thoroughly, I can’t tell much about the highs and lows of it. So I am going to go by what I have heard about these places, read in reviews and why I find these places perfect for a dream outing/vacation. All are welcome to suggest their favourite travel destinations and high fives if mine match yours. Here goes the list-

Friday, 22 January 2016

Wednesday, 20 January 2016

A Journey Through Music and Times of Bollywood.




I originally intended to make a list of the top 10 or 15 Soundtracks of Bollywood. But not only did it pose serious conflicts of ranking, it also made me leave out some of the greatest soundtracks behind. So, in good faith of bringing out the most enjoyable and evocative list for anyone who visits this page, here is a journey of Bollywood through different times and artists marked by soundtracks that the country instantly took to and those that still linger in our fondest memories.

Share the poison

Choose your poison

Flash Labels by Blogger Widgets